Meeting Recap: Wednesday, Feb. 24, 2016 (International and Evaluation Contests)

posted Mar 3, 2016, 11:26 PM by Advanced Public Speakers Toastmasters Club

Dear APS Members, Friends, and Contest Officials,

The thunder crashed, the lightening flashed, the building creaked in the wind, but the drama outdoors couldn’t compare to the excitement on stage at the APS International Speech and Evaluation Contest on Wednesday, February 24.

Todd McKinney emerged triumphant in the International Speech contest by inviting his audience to, “Make My Day.”  Derek Chen drew second with his speech, “Keep on Going.”  Given the long and vigorous applause following his speech, he proved he is no longer a small potato, but has emerged as one of APS’s “top dogs.”  David Hamilton came in third with his inspiring speech, “Your Issues…” in which he challenged his audience to triumph over adversity.  Also competing were Harry Aneziris, Brian Robinson, and Wesley Webster, all with top quality speeches.

In the Speech Evaluation Contest, Test Speaker Chris Francis delivered a contest-worthy speech that gave evaluators plenty of reason for praise.  Brian Robinson captured first place, David Hamilton took second, and Todd McKinney won third.  The other contestants included Harry Aneziris, Chris Sassone and Wesley Webster, all of whom delivered eloquent evaluations full of insightful recommendations.

Congratulations to all our winners.  And thank you to ALL our contestants for making this such a hard-fought and exciting event.

We extend special appreciation to our selfless contest officials, including our anonymous but hard-working Judges, our Ballot Counters Stuart Garmise and Jinquan Liang; Timers Henry Velazquez and Manuel Saldana; Sergeants-at-Arms Cathe McGowan and Jacqueline McIntyre; Back-Up Official Marcelo Braga, Contest Interviewer Neerja Purang, Contest Photographer Derek Chen, and especially to Chief Judge and Area 45 Director Deborah Leung, who went above and beyond her normal responsibilities to make sure the contest succeeded. 

~ - ~ -  ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~

Marcia Berry, Contest Chair

President, Advanced Public Speakers