Meeting Recap: Jan. 23, 2013 (Club International Speech and Speech Evaluations Contests)

posted Feb 15, 2013, 11:51 AM by Advanced Public Speakers Toastmasters Club   [ updated Oct 15, 2014, 1:52 PM ]
Dear APS Members and Guests,

An air of excited expectation filled the beautiful Millennium Board Room at Thomson Reuters as the Advanced Public Speakers Club held our International Speech and Evaluation Contest on January 23. The room was overflowing with some of the best Toastmasters talent in our District. We had a full roster of six contestants in each contest, and the quality of the speeches and evaluations were a testament to the standards of excellence aspired to at APS. 

The contest was planned and executed with expertise by Contest Chair Sandro Fusco and Chief Judge Eloise Johnny.

Honored guests were Division D Governor Martin Feinberg, Division E Governor Janice Smith, Assistant Division C Governor Cathe McGowan, Area 45 Governor Jonathan Yu, Area 31 Governor Rosalinda Jose, Myron Tucker, Jacqueline McIntyre, Nina Fattahi, Yana Naginsky, and Cinti Laird. Assistant Division C Governor Mimi Hou, Ben Simmons and Carol Bodine were welcome guests from host club Thomson Reuters Rooters.

Other APS members or contest officials were Marcia Berry, Christine Navigante, Neerja Purang, Gouri Seetharam,Pam Burke, Andrea King and Rafay Kahlid.

International Speech contestants were Harry Aneziris, Georgia Jones, Michael Platania, Brian Robinson, Manuel Saldana, and Kimberly Taylor. There was one disqualification due to time.

The winners are:
First PlaceBrian Robinson
Second Place: Kimberly Taylor
Third Place: Michael Platania

Test Speaker Carol Bodine gave an excellent and entertaining storytelling speech “Don’t Do It,” that provided a challenge for the evaluation contestants. Those contestants were: Mitch Abramson, Harry Aneziris, Georgia Jones, Todd McKinney, Brian Robinson, and Manuel Saldana.

The winners are:
First PlaceHarry Aneziris
Second Place: Brian Robinson
Third Place: Georgia Jones

The first place winners will represent APS at the Area 45 Contest.

Best Regards,
~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~ - ~
Todd McKinney